New Frontiers of Philanthropy Project Team

The team responsible for the conceptualization, development, and execution of the New Frontiers of Philanthropy Project represents a unique blend of talents and experience from the worlds of social investment, philanthropy, community development, social entrepreneurship, and academia.

Center Staff

Lester M. Salamon, Director
Chelsea Newhouse, Communications Associate

Project Network

The project leveraged the sizable experience and networks of a Blue Ribbon Advisory Panel comprised of major figures in the philanthropic and social investment worlds and a highly regarded team of academics and practitioners who are preparing chapters in the New Frontiers of Philanthropy volume. Key figures in the network include:

Social Investment
Stuart Davidson, Managing Partner, Labrador Ventures
Shari Berenbach, President and CEO (former), Calvert Foundation
Luther Ragin, CEO, Global Impact Investing Network
Clara Miller, President, F.B. Heron Foundation
Steve Lydenberg, Partner, Strategic Vision, Domini Social Investments
Durreen Shahnaz, Managing Director, Impact Investment Exchange (IIX) Asia
Robert Kraybill, Chairman, Impact Investment Exchange (IIX) Asia
Brian Trelstad, Chief Investment Officer, Acumen Fund
Belden Hull Daniels, Economic Innovation International
Deborah La Franchi, Strategic Development Solutions
Christopher L. Davis, President, Money Management Institute
Doug Bauer, Executive Director, The Clark Foundation
Lucy Bernholz, Founder and President, BluePrint Research & Design, Inc.
William Dietel, Partner, Dietel Partners and former President, Rockefeller Brothers Fund
Mario Morino, Chairman, Venture Philanthropy Partners
Melinda T. Tuan, Principal, Melinda Tuan Consulting
Vince Stehle, Philanthropy Consultant, former program officer at the Surdna Foundation
Mike Edwards, Independent writer and former Ford Foundation Vice President
Matthew Bishop, New York Bureau Chief, The Economist
Michael Green, Independent writer
Luc Tayart De Borms, Managing Director, King Baudouin Foundation
Kimberly Wright-Violich, President (former), Schwab Charitable Gift Fund
Community Development
Frank Altman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Community Reinvestment Fund (CRF)
Greg Stanton, Founder and Director, Wall Street Without Walls
Lisa Richter, Principal, GPS Capital Partners
David J. Erickson, Manger for the Center for Community Development Investments, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Mary Tingerthal, Commissioner, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency
Elise Balboni, Independent Consultant
Norah McVeigh, Managing Director of Financial Services, Nonprofit Finance Fund
Social Entrepreneurship
Rowena Young, Program Director of Social Innovation and Finance (former), NESTA
Maximilian Martin, Founder and Managing Director, Impact Economy SA
Jack Sim, Founder, World Toilet Organization
Mechai Viravaidya, Founder, Mechai Viravaidya Foundation, Population and Development International and Condoms & Cabbages Restaurants
Academia and Research
Peter Frumkin, Professor of Public Affairs and Director, RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service, University of Texas at Austin
Shirley Sagawa, Visiting Fellow, Center for American Progress
Alex Nicholls, Professor, Oxford University
Lisa Hagerman, Director of the More for Mission Campaign, Harvard University
David Wood, Director of the Initiative for Responsible Investment, Harvard University
Rick Cohen, National Correspondent, Nonprofit Quarterly
Angela M. Eikenberry, Associate Professor, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Jessica Bearman, Principal, Bearman Consulting
Katie Grace, Research Assistant, Harvard University
Craig Churchill, Head of the Micro-insurance Innovation Facility, International Labor Organization